Share Your World 2023: 17 April

It’s Monday again and Di, our host for Share Your World has provided another four questions and a meme.

1. Do you have a special talent (ie music, art, singing, dress making, pottery etc).

No I don’t really. I wouldn’t say I was talented at any of my hobbies but I still enjoy doing them.

2. What was your best subject at school and was it your favourite?

I think my best subject at school was English and it was one of my favourites. I think that if you like a subject you are usually better at it because you try harder. I liked English, History and Social Studies and I was pretty good at all of those.

3.  Do you like to cook?

Yes and no. I like to bake Christmas foods and favourite cakes and biscuits. I used to enjoy experimenting with different recipes but not so much now. I just like to make familiar things. I am no MasterChef. That type of cooking doesn’t appeal to me.

The results of all that cooking.

4.  Do you get riled easily?

More easily than I used to but I try not to lose my temper.

Sour old lady


I don’t have anything in particular to share about gratitude this week so after an abortive conversation with the new Bing AI chatbot I went looking for a meme instead. I like this one.



I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.


  1. Good post Vanda. Thank you for sharing your world. Loved your sour old lady, looks a bit like me in the morning when I’ve had little sleep!! I’ve used this meme with a different background and always liked it. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.