Share Your World 2023: 3 April

Di is our host for Share Your World every Monday. This week we have some questions about entertainment.

1.   Do you have a favourite movie?

Not just one. Over the years there have been several movies I’ve liked a lot. “The Big Chill” is one that I love, “The Blues Brothers” is another and “The Commitments”. I really liked “The Russia House” too although I haven’t watched it in a long time.

2.  Who is you favourite actor and actress?

Again it’s hard to say. I think my favourite actress from the golden years of Hollywood is Katharine Hepburn. I always admired her. I don’t really watch movies a lot, especially modern movies so the actors I like tend to be more from TV shows. In recent times my favourite actor is David Tennant. I have seen a lot of his work, not just Doctor Who.

3.   Do you attend or have you ever attended a live theatre production?

I love going to the theatre although I haven’t been for a few years now. Not much opportunity when you live in the country. When I was a child my aunt was involved with amateur dramatics and the family would go to watch the productions she was in. Most were musicals like “South Pacific”, “Oklahoma” and “Carousel” to mention a few. Sometimes we’d even be taken along to Sunday dress rehearsals to watch. I think this gave me an interest in the theatre. Naomi and I went to several live theatre productions in Adelaide when we were younger We saw “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” a couple of times, “Noises Off”, “High Society” “Evita” and others whose names I don’t remember now. We have been to the theatre in Hobart a couple of times. the last time to see the Australian version of “The Mousetrap”.

4.   Have you ever wanted to be an actor/actress?

No. Although I enjoyed seeing the shows when I was a child I never wanted to appear in one. My cousins all did but I was extremely shy and didn’t like the idea of putting myself out there in that way. I would have probably enjoyed doing something backstage although I don’t know what I would have done.


I looked around for a meme to share this week and I like this one.



I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.