Share Your World 2023: 27 March

Di is our host for Share Your World every Monday. Here are this week’s random questions.

1.  Do you have a lot of friends or do you know a lot of people ?

I guess I do know a lot of people, at least I did when I lived in Geeveston. I don’t really know many people where I live now. I don’t have a lot of friends. I have a few close ones.

2.  If you are at a party and know very few of the guests, do you mingle and introduce yourself, sit on the sidelines and people watch, or discreetly leave?

I don’t go to parties. I would probably try to avoid going to one where I didn’t know many people. If I were forced to attend I’d probably people watch unless I struck up a conversation with someone and we really hit it off. Sometimes I find it’s easier to talk to strangers I’ll probably never see again than to talk to people I know slightly. I find it hard to join a group of people talking.

3.  What is the best job you have ever had?

I loved working for the railways in Adelaide for most of the time I was there. I enjoyed the work except when it was really hot and I got on well with my co-workers. The pay and holidays were excellent. I would have stayed if the state had not started privatising everything.

Redhen Railcar being serviced at the Adelaide Railcar Depot

4.  Can you swim?

No, I never mastered it and haven’t been in the water for years. When I was at school we had swimming lessons but I didn’t like it when the instructors wanted us to put our heads under water. Also, as I can’t see very well without my glasses, I feel disoriented in the water without them.


Di’s affirmation this week is this:

Things may not always turn out the way we’d hoped, but sometimes they turn out better.

This immediately made me think of a song, “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” by The Rolling Stones. This in turn led me to an interesting little article about the song which I’ll share a link to.

Sometimes life takes unexpected turns and we don’t get what we want but we get something we need and sometimes that’s for the best.



I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.