Share Your World 2023: 6 February

Di is our host for Share Your World which I think I’ve been participating in since 2014.

Here are today’s questions:

1. What kind of vacations did you have as a child?

When we lived in England our summer holiday every year was to visit our grandparents in Clacton on Sea and a couple of times to mind mum’s brother’s house in Brightlingsea while he and his family went on their holidays. After we came to Australia we didn’t have any vacations away from home until we were well into our teens.

2. Have any of those remained favourites now that you’re an adult?

I have retained a soft spot for the British seaside resort. On the two occasions that I have visited England as an adult I did go back to Clacton. It was winter, not summer holiday time but I’m still attached to the idea of those holidays although I think it is probably very different now to the 1960s.

3. What has been your best vacation ever?

It’s hard to choose. There was the trip that David and I did in 1990 when we went to China and Russia and travelled on the Trans Mongolian and Trans Siberian Expresses and then spent several weeks in the UK. I also loved the cruise that Naomi and I did to New Zealand in 2016. Naomi and I have had a lot of great holidays within Australia too, country towns in South Australia and trips to Melbourne and Sydney. However maybe the best one was our 1998 trip to Tasmania because that is the one that led to our decision to move here for good.

image train
Locomotive hauling the Trans Mongolian Express

4. Do you prefer resorts where there are no kids allowed?

I don’t really go to resorts but if I’m honest I do prefer places where there are few or no children because those places are usually much quieter and less crowded.

I’m grateful for the 1998 holiday. Moving to Tasmania was one of the best things that I’ve ever done.

image Spirit of Tasmania
Boarding the Spirit of Tasmania


I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.