Share Your World 2023: 9 January


Can you believe that it is week two of SYW 2023? Di, our hostess is back with a new set of questions.

1.  How long did it take you to get back into your normal routine after the holidays?
(this does not have to be Christmas and New Year, but any holiday)

Not very long really. It was just the two of us and apart from taking the decorations down we didn’t have a lot to do after Christmas. We both went back to our volunteer jobs the week after Christmas too so it was business as usual apart from all the leftover Christmas food. We still have some Christmas pudding and Christmas cake but those keep well.

Christmas train.

2. Which makes you feel more relaxed, putting your feet up in front of the fire with a good book or socialising with your friends?

Usually settling down with a good book, or the electronic equivalent. Socialising is more stressful than being alone. Not that I don’t enjoy it occasionally but I wouldn’t want to do it all the time.

3. What is your favourite hot drink?

Usually, I drink tea so I guess that’s my favourite but I do enjoy percolated coffee although I rarely drink it now. Hot chocolate is a treat too.

4.  If you are feeling poorly, do you prefer to be pampered, or left alone?

I prefer to be left alone. As long as someone offers to make me a cup of tea and some toast once in while I don’t want to be bothered. If I had to go to hospital, I wouldn’t really want a parade of visitors when I’m feeling less than my best.

Gratitude:

We had a lovely day out on Sunday. We went to a market where we found some nice things to buy. We went to Coles Beach to photograph the steam train from Don River Railway. The weather was beautiful, a warm, sunny day but not too hot to enjoy being outside. Then we went to a barbecue at Don that was put on for the volunteers. That’s where Naomi does her volunteering. I got to meet all her friends there which was very nice. I do like to socialise sometimes.

TGR M4 at Coles Beach

I was grateful for the opportunity to get out and take some pictures as it doesn’t happen too often these days.

Coles Beach Tasmania

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.