Share Your World 2022: 12 December


Here are Di’s questions for this week.

 As a kid, did you have roller skates, a go-kart or a push bike?

 Also, did you belong to a gang or just hang out with your friends? 

I did have roller skates for a short time. I was never very good at roller skating though. I did have a tricycle when I was very small but not a bicycle due to my issues about falling. I was never part of a gang. I preferred to hang out with just a couple of friends, with Naomi or by myself.

What is the best present, birthday or otherwise, you can remember as a child?

I think that my Hornby electric train set was one of my favourite presents. I think it was a Christmas present, I might have been five or six. I also remember my ninth birthday when I received a Skipper doll and a Pepper doll on the same day.

Hornby Trains

  If a friend stayed over, did you have a midnight feast or did you go to bed and sleep ?

That didn’t happen very often. I think we usually sat up later than usual and had a late supper but not a midnight feast in the bedroom like you see in the movies.

Gratitude:

What gives your day a kick start?

The first cup of tea.

Photo by Olga Mironova on Pexels.com

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.

3 comments

  1. I’m with you on the first cup of tea to start the day. I also wanted a train set but didn’t get one. However, Hubby bought me one in 2019. Wonder what Maya will make of it if we put it under the tree as we have done. Thanks for joining in.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.