Share Your World 2022: 21 November


Di of Pensitivity101 is our host for Share Your World and as usual has provided us with four questions to answer.

Questions

1. As a child, did you prefer to watch TV, play games outside on a nice day, or read?

Mostly I read or played inside with my dolls but sometimes I’d be outside on a nice day. We didn’t really watch TV during the day that much. If I wasn’t at school, I found that the daytime children’s programs were for much younger children or maybe mum would be watching some old movie or her favourite soaps. The kids’ programs that I did like generally started after 4pm.

2. What would you rather do now, read a book, watch a movie at home, dine out with friends, or go down the pub?

I do enjoy a nice pub lunch from time to time and maybe a flutter on the “pokies” but I don’t really go to the pub to drink. When I lived in Geeveston I used to go out to lunch at a pub, cafe or restaurant once a month with friends. I couldn’t have afforded any more often than that. I probably prefer reading a book to watching a movie.

3. Are you fashion conscious?

No. OK I probably should say a bit more than that. I would rather be comfortable than fashionable; I like particular colours and styles and wear those regardless of what is “In” or “Out”.

4. Do you wear slippers, clogs or go barefoot indoors?

Mostly I wear slippers so that if I have to go outside, we have an outside laundry, I don’t have to hunt for footwear. In warm weather I do like to go barefoot but I’m a wimp about walking on gravel or stones barefoot.

Gratitude:

Di says “You don’t need a special occasion to buy or be given flowers.

I do agree, it is always a joy to be given flowers.

Di also shared this meme which I like.

Funnily enough yesterday I ran outside between downpours of rain to photograph a few flowers in the garden. I’m always grateful for flowers because when we lived in Adelaide my attempts to grow them were never very successful. I loved my flowers in Geeveston, roses, daffodils and other bulbs I’d plant every year. We’re trying to do the same here although the roses are having a hard time but we did have fabulous tulips this year. Anyway, this was one of the flowers I photographed.

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.

2 comments

  1. Thanks for joining in, loved your answers. Beautiful picture at the end. Such a vibrant colour.
    (Sorry I can’t find your name so don’t know what to call you).

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.