Share Your World 2022: 19 September

Di is once again subbing for Melanie as host to Share Your World.


1.   Are you an early riser or late starter to the day?

These days I’m more of a late starter. I was an early starter for many years when I worked at jobs that started before 8am. Even when I was in high school, I liked to get up really early to make the most of the day before I had to go to school. Now I tend to get up later but not at a set time except on Thursdays when I go to my volunteer job in Wynyard. On Thursdays I listen to the 7am news before getting ready for the day. The rest of the week I probably get up between 8 -9am. I don’t often get up after 9am unless I’ve had a very late night though.

2.  Do you adopt Breakfast like a king, Lunch like a prince and Dine like a Pauper

No. We still find it more convenient to have our main meal in the early evening most days. Sometimes we have it at lunchtime. I always eat breakfast but usually it’s toast with eggs a couple of times a week for a change. I love the full English breakfast but don’t have it very often.
3.  Do you have a sweet or savoury tooth?


4.  Would you prefer a hot relaxing bath or a massage (remember, family friendly people!)?

I used to love a soak in the bath but now I find it difficult to get in and out and worry about slipping so baths have become a thing of the past. Also, we are on tank water so it’s a bit wasteful.

I would not enjoy a massage. I don’t like to be touched by strangers.

My gratitude this week:

What has been the highlight of the past seven days for you?

I wouldn’t say the last seven days have been brilliant. Polly is improving but after a return visit to the vet yesterday she is still in cat jail to prevent her from climbing or jumping. Luckily, as a pretty lazy cat, she is getting plenty of rest.

Polly in cat jail.

The news has been full of sad pictures of people grieving for the Queen and from the USA the usual lunacy of Trump and the MAGA crowd so not much to be happy about there.

We have had more tulips come out and they have brightened my days this week.



I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.