Share Your World 2022: 12 September


Di is our host once again for Share Your World as Melanie continues to rest and recuperate. Here are the questions.

1. If you were to go to a desert island and could only take five things with you, what would they be?

I take it this is a voluntary visit rather than being stranded Castaway style. I will also assume for the sake of this question that there is a supply of drinkable water,food, some kind of shelter and the means to call someone to come and get me when I’d had enough solitude.

Photo by Pok Rie on Pexels.com
  1. Sunscreen, lots of it. I don’t want to get sunburn or worse, skin cancer.
  2. Reading material, if I’m limited in the amount I can have and power is not available to charge my Kindle I’d take a favourite book that I would be happy to reread many times rather than an “airport book” that I might never want to read again.
  3. My camera with spare batteries and cards.
  4. A photo album with pictures of my loved ones including pets if this was going to be a long stay.
  5. A towel, because you should always know where your towel is at.

2. What popular song (any era) best describes you?

At one time I would have said “Rose Coloured Glasses” but I’m less of an optimist than I used to be so now I don’t know.

3. If you could only use three basic ingredients to make a meal, what would they be?

Meat, potatoes and a green vegetable of some description.

4. Do you allow your pet on the furniture?

Yes, sometimes they even allow me to join them.

GRATITUDE:

It’s the start of a new week. What are you most looking forward to?

Last week was a bit of a bummer so I’m looking forward to this week being better. I’m looking forward to seeing Polly get back on her feet and to seeing some more tulips coming into bloom.

Polly, September 2022

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.