Share Your World 2022: 5 September


Di is our host for Share Your World again this week while Melanie recovers her health. If you are reading this Melanie, hello from Tasmania.

Questions

1.  Do you prefer tea, coffee or juice first thing in the morning?

Usually, I will make a cup of tea when I get up but it could equally be coffee. I like coffee but I don’t tend to make it as often now because I’m the only one who drinks it. Juice is nice on a hot day too.

2.  When it comes to food, what is your favourite smell?

That is a tough call but I think I’d have to say the smell of newly baked bread.

loaf of bread

3.  Do you prefer a take-out or to dine in a restaurant?

I really prefer dine in even at fast food places. I’ve never liked drive through, it’s hard to understand what the person you are talking to is saying and for them to understand you. I don’t find it very comfortable to eat in a car and if you wait till you get the food home it will be cold or getting cold. We don’t go to restaurants often, sometimes we have a pub lunch but whether we’re eating at a restaurant, pub, cafe or even McDonalds I’d rather sit and eat there.

4.  If you are hosting a party, do you prepare the food yourself, get caterers in or ask    everyone to bring something for the table?

When we used to do big family get togethers at Christmas whoever was hosting would provide most of the food but family members would all bring something, a salad, a platter, dessert or a cake. Caterers was never an option.

Gratitude:

What has been the highlight of your week this week?

I had a good week although nothing out of the ordinary. Saturday was a beautiful spring day and I ended up spending several hours in the garden tidying up, raking leaves and cutting back dead stuff from last year. When I finished, I sat down for a bit and watched a pair of Fairy Wrens hopping around our little courtyard. I imagined them as a married or maybe engaged couple as they hopped around inspecting things. Those little birds hop very fast. Mrs Wren flew off after a while but her husband stayed a bit longer looking around. I heard her chirping amongst the trees and he flew off to join her.

On Sunday, another fairly nice day, we went for a drive and visited two markets. The local one at Wynyard is usually good for collectibles. Naomi bought a couple of odds and ends there as well as some cake and slices. Then we decided to visit Penguin market where I bought two fashion dolls and Naomi bought a couple of things as well. We had roast lamb and veg for lunch and later stayed to listen to a local musician playing in the courtyard. We finished off the day with an ice cream. You have to have ice cream when you go to the seaside.

I’ve also had good luck photographing some of the possums who frequent our garden this week. These are Brushtail possums, quite common. Naomi can tell some of them apart and we have given them nicknames.

Our spring bulbs are also continuing to bloom. We now have our first tulips of the season along with daffodils, crocus and hyacinths.

Erlicheer daffodils
Erlicheer daffodils

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.