Share Your World 2020: 7 December


QUESTIONS

Do you enjoy skiing or ice skating or if it’s warm where you are, hiking or enjoying outdoor sports?

I have never tried either skiing or ice skating. I was terrible at roller skating as child so would probably have fallen over and broken something if I’d tried. I don’t enjoy sport of any kind. Hiking, well I like walking but I wouldn’t want to do the Overland track or anything even mildly dangerous.

Do you give to charities or homeless that you might encounter, during this time of year, more than you do otherwise?

Yes I do. If I had more to give I’d do it all year round and I don’t confine my giving to the Christmas season but I do try and make more of an effort at this time of year. I think that as I am expecting to have a nice meal and a gift on Christmas day I should spare a thought for those who will have neither.

What is the most enjoyable activity you engage in during December?  Is it a tradition for you and your family?

Naomi and I both enjoy Christmas traditions like putting up decorations and buying Christmas presents for our pets. We often try to keep our gifts to each other a surprise. It’s part of the fun of opening the gift not to know what’s in there. Of course Christmas Day lunch is also a tradition. Roast lamb, baked potatoes and lots of veggies followed by Christmas pudding.

What changes will C-19 bring to your festive celebrations this year?  

To be honest most of the changes to my Christmas celebrations were brought on by moving not Covid. Other years I’d have been going to lunch or dinner with friends in the weeks before Christmas, maybe going to the Christmas Pageant in Hobart and our local one in Geeveston. Of course most places are not having a parade this year, there isn’t one in Wynyard either so that’s a change.

GRATITUDE SECTION (Optional of course):

Please share a good will wish for the world!

My wish for all the world is that by this time next year we’ll have seen the back of Covid, and that we will have learned something from what has happened and take care of our poor, sick and elderly people a bit better in future.

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. My current housemates are Cindy, my 14-year-old Staffy-Lab X dog and Polly the world's most unsociable cat who is seven.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.