Share Your World 2020: 1 November


Questions:

Which meal is your favorite: breakfast, lunch, or dinner?

When I was young it was probably breakfast, full English breakfast, fried eggs, bacon, maybe a fried tomato and fried bread. It still is one of my favourite meals although these days I rarely eat it at breakfast time. If I go to a cafe that serves all day breakfast I am often tempted and occasionally even cook it for myself for dinner.

Photo by Thought Catalog on Pexels.com

Who do you admire most in the world?

I wouldn’t say the most in the world but I do admire our Queen for her devotion to duty. I remember the celebration they had for her Diamond Jubilee in 2012. They had a parade of boats on the Thames and the Queen and Prince Philip were on the Royal Barge. The journey took a couple of hours and the weather was absolutely dreadful but both of them stood up where they could be seen for the entire journey. I think the Queen was in her late 80s and Philip must have been 90 by then. I don’t know how they did it. I couldn’t stand for that long and none of the younger Royals did either.

Photo by http://www.defenceimagery.mod.uk/

With the obvious restrictions in place, what do you regret not doing in the last year?

What I regret most not doing is going out with my camera more often. This is not a totally covid related problem. I live in a place with no public transport so I can’t just hop on the bus and go somewhere like I used to. I can organise rides with neighbours but I haven’t really done it because it would involve going out early in the morning when they go to work and not being able to come home till they finish. I would have to leave Cindy at home alone all day and that is far too long. I do miss being able to go off somewhere for a day.


GRATITUDE SECTION:  (Optional)

Feel free to share something you’re grateful for.  

The pots in 2016

I’m always grateful for nature, even when everything else seems grim. Last weekend the weather was perfect, not too hot, not too cold, not windy or wet. I have buds on my potted roses, last year they didn’t flower due to weather conditions and attacks by the local wildlife. I hope I’m going to get some roses any day now. Actually I’m grateful that I’ve managed to keep them alive for four years.

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. My current housemates are Cindy, my 14-year-old Staffy-Lab X dog and Polly the world's most unsociable cat who is seven.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.