Share Your World 2020: 11 May


  • I asked this on an award thingie I was nominated for, and I got such interesting responses, I thought I’d ask it on Share Your World too:  Do you have a favorite kind of tree?

I have several favourite trees. From childhood I loved oak trees. Collecting acorns from a big tree at the end of our street is an early memory. I missed them in South Australia as there were not many growing in the city and suburbs. I was delighted to find there were a lot of oak trees in Hobart. I also like trees with colourful foliage like the Japanese Maple. I had a weeping maple in Geeveston that I was very sad to leave. The other tree I really like but have never had is the tulip magnolia.

Oak trees growing on the Parliament Lawns, Hobart
  • What bridges are you happy you burned?

I’m happy that we made the decision to move from South Australia to Tasmania. Some people might have found it a strange decision to leave everyone we knew and come to a place where we didn’t know anyone at all but I’ve never regretted it.

  • Would you sacrifice yourself (die) for a stranger?

I honestly can’t say. It’s a noble idea but I’m a coward. I don’t know what I would do if put in that situation.

  • How have your priorities changed since the C-19 virus took over?

I don’t think they have. I just live every day as it comes along.


Good news in the media this week. Tasmania seems to be getting on top of things and restrictions are easing a little. Here in the northwest we’re back in line with the rest of the state now that the outbreak has been contained. Our National Parks are now available to people who live near them, no long distance travelling yet. In the coming weeks we can look forward to going to a cafe again and life returning to a little more like normal. It sounds like it will be a month or two before a lot of venues like markets and pubs are open and it will depend on whether there are fresh cases of the virus but I feel like we’re at the half way mark. As I’ve stated it doesn’t impact on my life all that much because I am isolated anyway. It does impact on my freedom though. I want to know that I can go out for a day of browsing the shops and having lunch if I want to. At the moment I don’t have the choice.

Reflections in the water . Sisters Beach


I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.