RDP: Lion


A Lion’s Tale

I don’t have an animal story or even one about the astrological sign Leo. The day before this prompt came out I’d been doing a little bit of online searching to see if I could find the places my mother lived in India as a child.

What does that have to do with lions? Well, not much except that the 2016 film “Lion” featured a lot of footage of little Saroo’s journey across India by train. Saroo traveled east from his home in Khandwa to Kolkata in 1986. My mother traveled east too, from Mumbai, or Bombay as it was in 1930 to Jabalpur then known as Jubblepore.

Chi Chola Colony, Burhanpur, Madhya Pradesh 450331, India - panoramio - Camaal (1)

Khandwa and Jabalpur I discovered are both in the state of Madhya Pradesh in central India so a little of Saroo’s journey would have been on the same route that mum saw as a child. I wish she could have seen the film, she would have loved it.

Mum was in India because her father was in the British Army. They had previously spent time in Jersey, Malta, and Egypt before arriving in Mumbai on a troopship. Mum sometimes talked about the journey and I remember her telling us that they had been on a train for three days. Currently, the journey to Jabalpur takes about 20 hours so I’m sure that this was the journey she was talking about. She was around ten years old when they arrived in India and the family lived there for two years sadly losing mum’s eldest sister Marjorie to malaria while they were there.

I wish I could remember more detail of the stories she told me. Mum had wonderful recall of things she did as a child and used to tell us about the houses they lived in at the barracks, the other children, games they played, the Indian staff who helped around the house and many other things. I was pleased to be able to confirm that Jabalpur was the same as Jubblepore because although she remembered so much I doubt that mum could have shown me where she went on a map.

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.