Share Your World: 25 March 2019

Sharing My World This Week

What is the best pick me up that you know of?  To shake you out of the blues?

Comfort food like chocolate is good but I also find that my surroundings help a lot. When David was in the hospital for months I found that no matter how blue I was feeling the beauty around me as I travelled up to Hobart on the bus to see him lifted my spirits. Sitting in my garden enjoying the flowers, the birds and my pets makes me feel good too.

It’s peaceful in the garden.

What would be the title of your memoir?

I’m not going to take this entirely seriously but perhaps “Diary of a Doll Lover” or even “Reflections of a Rail Fan” as those have been my lifelong interests.

Where do you like to go when you eat out?

I don’t have one specific place that I like to go but I like places that serve simple but tasty food. I’m not interested in restaurants where the food is pretty to look at but you are still hungry after eating it. I like a place with a nice ambience, a pretty view out the window or a fireplace or interesting decor. I don’t like restaurants that are noisy because for me going out for a meal is a social occasion and I want to be able to enjoy conversation with my companions not be straining to hear or listening to awful music. Lastly, I like places who don’t rush you out the door as soon as you have finished because they want to clear up.

Do you believe in luck?

Yes, I do believe in luck but I don’t rely on it.

My lucky frog looks after my lotto tickets.

Aside from necessities, what is one thing you couldn’t go a day without?

Solitude. Having to be around people all day, every day would be very stressful. I enjoy my days at the Op Shop interacting with customers and spending time with my fellow volunteers. I enjoy coffee or lunch with friends but I am always glad to get home and know I have the rest of the day to myself.

A place to read and think.


I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.


  1. You know, those “what can’t you do without” questions are teasers. There are so many things I can’t do without including sleep, coffee, toothpaste, yogurt, water … so your answer is often based on where you are at the moment you are answering the question!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Melanie B Cee Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.