Share Your World 2019 – 7 January


Sharing My World This Week

Did you have to help out with chores when you were growing up?  If so, what were you assigned to do?

Mum was not as strict as some parents about chores. She expected us to keep our rooms tidy and pick up our toys but we did not have to do regular chores.

Have you ever researched your family tree?   What do you know about your family’s roots? 

I did do a little although after you get to a certain point it can become expensive getting certificates to verify the names and dates when you live in a country other than the one where you were born. I think it is an interesting subject. My roots are mostly English on both sides although one grandparent was born in Canada.

My maternal grandparents when they were young.

What’s your cure for hiccups?

I don’t really have one. I try holding my breath but it doesn’t seem to work all that well. I’ve tried drinking a glass of water which also doesn’t seem to help a lot. I think in the end they go away of their own accord.

What makes you roll your eyes every time you hear it?  Either figuratively or literally?

Election promises. You know that there is an election due when politicians start bringing out plans for projects that you know will get dumped as soon as the election is over. In Australia, the favourite one is the Very Fast Train between Sydney and Melbourne. I have heard that one so often that when I hear it is being talked about I just assume someone thinks it is a vote winner. Other favourites are “new flag” and “Have a referendum to decide if we should become a republic.”

Finally:

Share a gratitude or positive moment or experience from 2019 so far.

The year is barely a week old and there has not been much positive news in the papers. There are bushfires burning around the country including in the Tasmanian Wilderness, our politicians are still behaving badly, India beat us at cricket, Trump is still an idiot. In other words business as usual.

2016 Tasmanian bushfire MG 0160

In my own little world, I try and find positive moments where I can. I’m enjoying listening to the Harry Potter books on Audible and someone is coming to look at my house tomorrow. Maybe they will want to buy it.

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

One thought on “Share Your World 2019 – 7 January”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.