Share Your World 2018 – 25 June


Sharing My World This Week

If aliens landed on earth tomorrow and offered to take you home with them, would you go? (remember this is SYW, they are friendly aliens)

Considering the state of the world today I would be very tempted if they had a nice planet. At least a visit would be interesting.

I very much enjoyed “Close Encounters of the Third Kind” when it first came out. I rather hoped that’s what our first meetings with aliens would be like. Or perhaps like in  “Star Trek; First Contact” although Vulcan would not be my choice of planet to visit. It is way too hot.

How tall are you? Are you satisfied with your height?

I believe I am around 155cm or five foot two for non-metric readers. I would have liked to be taller; it would make life a lot easier at home. I have to use a stepladder to reach the top shelves of the kitchen cupboards.

I need this to get to the top of my kitchen cupboards.

Do you think you could live without your smartphone (or other technology item) for 24 hours?

Smartphone, absolutely. I would not miss it a bit. In fact I sometimes go a whole weekend without touching it. It would be harder to give up computers and the internet but I only used it a couple of times during the cruise and didn’t miss it as much as I thought I might. I could certainly manage 24 hours without checking in.

What did you appreciate or what made you smile this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

Now that the nights are chilly I appreciate my electric blanket. I turn it on for an hour before I go to bed and turn it off when I get in. I know I am lucky to have a nice warm bed to sleep in. Many people don’t have a roof over their heads let alone a cosy bed and that is tough at this time of year.

 

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

3 thoughts on “Share Your World 2018 – 25 June”

  1. I wouldn’t miss my phone at all. I would definitely miss my camera and ultimately, I don’t know how to write without a computer so I would need it. But 24 hours wouldn’t do me in either. When we were cruising, I didn’t have a phone or a laptop and I didn’t care. That wasn’t why I went cruising.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.