Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Shoes or Feet (Human and Animal)


If The Shoe Fits

This is how I store my Barbie shoes. I have three boxes of these, two for Barbie and one for Ken.  Some of Barbies shoes are quite elaborate as you will see in the next picture.

Barbie shoe box
Barbie sized boots.

My shoes on the other hand are just laying about where I can get them easily.  I keep a pair of boots by the back door because in winter the garden can be quite muddy. I still call them Wellington boots as we did in England. I actually refused to wear Wellingtons for over thirty years after an incident at school when someone put chewing gum inside my boot. However when we arrived in Tasmania in June 2002 I speedily realised that I needed something to keep my feet dry. I bought this pair of boots in an Op Shop in Huonville for 50c and still use them. It’s hard to pull them off sometimes and it reminds me of the old song “My Old Man’s A Dustman”.

Frequently worn shoes.
Boots bought for 50c in 2002.
Shoes at the Op Shop.

As I didn’t want to include a picture of my own feet here is one of Cindy’s paws. She has been coming in rather muddy lately as well.

Cindy’s paw.

 

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. My current housemates are Cindy, my 14-year-old Staffy-Lab X dog and Polly the world's most unsociable cat who is seven.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.