Share Your World 2018 – 4 June


Sharing My World This Week

I hadn’t forgotten about Share Your World this week. I wanted to find some of our childhood photos. Unfortunately a lot of that stuff is packed in boxes at present and the ones that I had out did not show the garments I was writing about. I did manage to find one of us from probably 1963 or 64.

A piece of clothing from your younger childhood you still remember?

I remember a lot of the clothing that I had as a small child. Of course there are photos but some I actually remember mum buying. Mum often used to shop from mail order catalogues and sometimes she would buy Naomi and I matching outfits but in different colours. I remember knitted “ski outfits” as mum called them.There were knitted leggings, striped jumpers and hats with a bobble. Naomi’s was in shades of blue and mine browns and beige. I thought hers was nicer than mine as I considered brown rather a boring colour. I still rarely, if ever,  wear brown but mum liked it.

We also had royal blue knitted twin sets which comprised a pleated skirt and a cardigan with an embroidered flower on the front. We once had our photos taken in these outfits with our two cousins who were both wearing jeans. Mum did not like jeans and we did not own any until we were in our teens.

I also had a  little tartan suit in shades of green that I loved but grew out of very quickly. Naomi, who was a very slim child, was able to wear the skirt for several years. I can still remember the time that mum bought matching “Duster Coats”, for herself and both of us to wear in summer. They were all in different shades of blue. We did not like the straw bonnets she bought to go with them very much though and I think I actually refused to wear mine. Still not a fan of hats either.

Here we are in our Duster Coats and Naomi is wearing the awful straw bonnet as she was probably too little to put up a fight.

Irregardless of your physical fitness, coordination or agility: If you could be an athlete what would you do?   Remember this is SYW, dreaming is always allowed.

Well maybe if I’d had fitness, coordination and agility as a child I’d have been more interested in athletics but as it is even dreaming I’m really not interested. I never wished I could do sport better so I’d probably pick something more like table tennis or ten pin bowling which I enjoy even though I am bad at both.

In a car would you rather drive or be a passenger?

I do enjoy being a passenger because I can look at the scenery. I used to navigate for David and still do if Naomi and I go on a long trip. I quite enjoy doing that.  It would be nice to drive myself around though as I could be more independent.

What did you appreciate or what made you smile this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

I went out for coffee with some friends as I do every week and two of them had photographs of themselves when they were in their twenties. It was fun to see how these guys looked in the nineteen seventies with long hair as both were in their mid-fifties when I first met them.

 

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

One thought on “Share Your World 2018 – 4 June”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.