Share Your World 2018 – 28 May


Sharing My World This Week

bag cutlery equipment food
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

If you were to pack a basket for picnic lunch, what would be in your basket?

I might take cold chicken or ham, tomatoes, cheese, hard boiled eggs coleslaw and potato salad.  There would also be some crusty bread or rolls, maybe some fruit cake for later on and apples and bananas. I’d have a thermos of hot water for tea and of course milk, sweetener for Naomi, and salt and pepper, also for Naomi as I don’t put salt on my food.

If we’d decided to have a BBQ instead of a regular picnic I’d have sausages and either lamb chops or beef patties and onions and potatoes. I expect we’d also have a bottle of Coke Zero as Naomi likes it. I’d stick with tea or coffee.

On a vacation what you would require in any place that you sleep?

Air conditioning, a soft mattress and a comfortable pillow, a shower with decent pressure that is easy to step into, tea and coffee making equipment, drinking glasses, a fridge. Those are the necessities. Free Wi-Fi would be very nice too.

For some reason it seems to be really hard to get all of these things in a budget hotel we get some but not others. I think in future we are going to stop at more expensive hotels. Cruise ships have spoiled us for roughing it.

Our room at the Rendezvous Hotel Singapore, probably the nicest place we’ve stayed.

If you were to buy a new house/apartment what is the top three items on your wish list?

Well we are going to buy a new house but in fact we want an older style house. I guess top of the list is that it has to be big enough for us, our pets and our collections.

So my top three would be:

  • Size – That the house has two large bedrooms, not one huge one and two or three that are the size of shoe boxes and that there is space we can use for the dolls, toys and our hobbies like a big rumpus room, extra bedrooms or a studio and a big enough back yard for our three dogs to run around in.
  • Character-by this I mean that it retains some original features. We would love a retro style kitchen with timber and laminex cupboards and a wood fired oven as well as an electric one for example. Many older houses that have been modernised have colour schemes that are so neutral it is as if the personality has been painted out of the house. Of course you can change colours but you can’t put back features that have been taken away, at least not on our budget.
  • Convenience – for me this means that there is public transport with a regular service to town nearby or that I can walk to the nearest shops. As a non-driver it is important to me to retain my independence. I don’t want Naomi to have to take me everywhere I want to go.

 

What did you appreciate or what made you smile this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

This was a pretty quiet week for me. I went to the Op Shop; I played with Cindy, played with and photographed dolls and read old magazines. I do want to share a story about something that I appreciate about living here though. On Friday night I went to a fundraiser for a local family whose little boy needs frequent trips to Melbourne for medical treatment. My friend Karen’s husband and 8 year old son Braydan both had their heads shaved to raise money. I thought that this little boy was very brave and generous to want to do this for another child that he had never met, they go to different schools, but it was his own idea and he was determined to do it. His efforts added about a thousand dollars to the fund and while I don’t know the final figure our small community has raised several thousand dollars altogether over the past couple of months.

 

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

4 thoughts on “Share Your World 2018 – 28 May”

  1. I never thought I’d say this, but I want a spanking new house with no old anything in it. Neat, clean, closets, airy, and easy to care for. One big bedroom and a smaller one for guests. No dining room, but very big kitchen. But not old. Old comes with too many issues.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.