Share Your World 2018 – 21 May

Sharing My World This Week

What household chore do you absolutely enjoy doing? (can be indoor or outdoor)

I have six large rose bushes along my fence line and I usually set a goal of pruning them all by the end of July. They are tall and thorny so it’s not an easy job but over several years I have converted them from untamed bullies who scratch me as soon as I touch them to tidy and moderately well-behaved shrubs. I am self-taught as a pruner but read that roses don’t mind a hard prune so that’s what they get. I have a great feeling of satisfaction at having tamed them and even more when they flower in the summer although I rarely try to pick the blooms.

The roses in summer. This is when they were taller. I try to keep them no higher than the fence as that is how high I  can reach.

Create a sentence with the words “neon green” and train”.

This is the interior of a Shinkansen or “Bullet Train”from Japan  with its interior decorated in neon green.
Genbi Shinkansen car 11 interior 20180106


Other than your cell phone what can you always be found with?

As my friends and family will tell you I am rarely found with my mobile phone. I don’t carry it around with me at home and even when I’m out it is more likely to be wherever I left my handbag rather than with me. What I am always found with is my glasses as I can’t see well without them.

What did you appreciate or what made you smile this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

It was my birthday on Sunday so I had a pleasant weekend. My friends from the Op Shop bought me flowers, chocolate and wine and we all had a nice meal together on Friday. Naomi and I went on a boat trip on the Huon River and out to lunch afterwards. When we got home we had a big pile of vintage magazines to look through which we both enjoyed.

Yukon sailing on the Huon.
Autumn colours




I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. My current housemates are Cindy, my 14-year-old Staffy-Lab X dog and Polly the world's most unsociable cat who is seven.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.