Share Your World 2018 – 7 May


Sharing My World This Week

If you were given $22 million tax free dollars (any currency), what is the first thing you would do? (This is just a dream question, remember anything can happen in SYW.)

Well dream world or real world that’s an easy question to answer. The very first thing I would do after I’d finished doing the happy dance? I’d give half of it to Naomi. $11 million would be more than enough for me to live comfortably on. Then I would arrange things so that I would have an income from the interest and would never have to worry about fulfilling obligations in order to get the measly government allowance again. I wouldn’t have to tell them every time I wanted to go on holidays or move. I would be officially retired and free. After that I could start thinking about spending it, what I would do, where I would go and who I would like to help.

In what do you find the simplest of joys?

At the risk of sounding repetitious because I always say this, my home and pets.

What would be your ideal birthday present, and why?

I really feel now that I have just about everything I want but I guess for me the ideal present is always going to be hobby related. A vintage doll I’ve been looking for or doll house items or maybe a book that I’ve been wanting to read. When it comes to things for the house like appliances I really prefer to buy them myself. I like to research and wait till I can find the exact model I want but I also like surprises so I don’t want ask someone to buy me such and such appliance, model so and so. Of course money is also a good present but there is no fun in trying to guess what’s in an envelope. I like unwrapping stuff.

What did you appreciate or what made you smile this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination

This past summer I replaced some of the plants along the back fence that were struggling with several new rose bushes. I picked ones that would grow tall and screen the fence but at first several of them didn’t look as if they were doing very well. I kept watering them and they gradually recovered. Now, as winter is approaching they are all still flowering and I’m really enjoying them.

pink rose in the back garden.
My new roses are now doing well.

 

 

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

One thought on “Share Your World 2018 – 7 May”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.