Share Your World 2018 – 27 February

Sharing My World This Week

What are you reading right now?

Although I have a lot of books and still enjoy reading from a real book I just bought myself a Kindle so I could carry my reading material about more easily when I’m travelling. I’ve been using a tablet but found it unsatisfactory out-of-doors where the screen is hard to see and the tablet is rather heavy to carry around in my handbag all day. I really like the Kindle, it’s small but not too small and the white screen is so easy to read from.

I’ve just finished reading  “A Boy Made of Blocks” by Keith Stuart but currently I’m reading samples of books to decide which ones I’d enjoy reading on holidays next month. Next I am planning to read some science fiction, “The Chronicles of St Mary’s” series by Jodi Taylor, some murder mysteries and a book about dogs.


What was your first adult job?

I left school at fifteen and went to work at the local branch of a suburban department store called Moore’s where I worked on the cash register.

 What’s your favourite breakfast cereal?

I like muesli but I don’t have it very often, it never seemed worthwhile buying it just for me.  Now I generally prefer toast or an egg for breakfast. In winter I enjoy  a bowl porridge for breakfast with milk and perhaps some jam on it. I will eat most cereals but generally prefer Sultana Bran, Just Right, or Nutrigrain (It looks like little cricket bats) would be my favourites of the popular cereals.


What did you appreciate or what made you smile this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

Last week was not an exceptional week for me. No big highs or lows. Polly and Cindy made me smile with their funny little ways. They often play together and it looks funny because Cindy is so much bigger than Polly is but they have fun. They are so fond of one another and I never get tired of watching them play or watching Polly giving Cindy a wash as she does most days.

Polly frequently gives s
Cindy a wash..




I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.