Share Your World 2018 – 15 January


Sharing My World This Week

Complete this sentence: I’m looking forward to….

our next cruise holiday in late March. Two weeks on Ovation of the Seas and a week in Singapore.

Ovation of the Seas - Hobart ,13 Dec 2016
Ovation of the Seas – Hobart ,13 Dec 2016

What is your favourite comfort snack food? 

I love raisin toast.

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

My very first job when I left school was as a sales assistant in the local branch of a department store called Moores. It has long since closed down but that was nothing to do with me. The photo is of the Adelaide branch of the store now knows as the Samuel Way Building and used as law courts.

 

Samuel Way Building.jpg
By Scott W.Own work, CC BY 2.5, Link

What inspired you or what did you appreciate this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

I appreciate the good friend that came over one evening last week to hang a cabinet on my bathroom wall and over the past two years has helped me by doing many small handyman jobs around the house thus saving me the expense of  getting tradespeople to do those things. I also appreciate Naomi giving me the cabinet which she bought for her own bathroom but did not end up using.

Bathroom cabinet.

 

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. My current housemates are Cindy, my 14-year-old Staffy-Lab X dog and Polly the world's most unsociable cat who is seven.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.