Share Your World 2018: 8 January


Sharing My World This Week

Do you prefer a bath or shower?

I normally shower rather than take a bath. It is quicker and I can wash my hair at the same time. I used to enjoy a soak in a hot bath but I am a little wary of having one now as I worry that I will have difficulty getting out. I probably would feel more secure with a grab rail.

What do you do to make a living or during the day? If you are retired what mostly occupies your day? Or if you are a student what are you studying?

I’m in a sort of limbo of not working but not being officially retired. I am obliged to do thirty hours a fortnight of voluntary work in order to receive government benefits. I go to my volunteer job at the Op Shop on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays with  Saturdays once a month so I’m actually doing more than required.

Geeveston Op Shop.
Outside the Geeveston Op Shop.

Is there a stuffed animal in your bedroom?

Until recently there were several teddy bears but when I had the room painted I packed most of them away only keeping out two bears that I had made years ago, Columbo and Albert. Columbo has now gone to Adelaide, he was David’s bear and I wanted his new great-niece to have him. Albert still sits on my dresser.

Columbo and Albert today.

What inspired you or what did you appreciate this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

I appreciated my Christmas decorations one more time before taking them down on Saturday.

I appreciated having the weekend at home after a very busy week at the Op Shop.

I appreciated the climate here in Tasmania as the mainland sweltered with temperatures in the high thirties and low to mid-forties we had one unpleasant day which was more humid than burning hot. It was to get away from the excessive summer heat that we left South Australia and I have never regretted that decision.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

One thought on “Share Your World 2018: 8 January”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.