Share Your World 2017 – Week #35


Sharing My World This Week

What color do you feel most comfortable wearing?

I always feel happy wearing red at least on the upper part of my body. Red pants might be a bit much. I also like to wear shades of purple and blue. I do wear black a lot and I like it but I spend a lot of time worrying about pet hair as Cindy is a light coloured dog. So embarrassing when you go out and someone says “You have a white dog don’t you?”

 

 

What is your favorite type of dog? (can be anything from a specific breed, a stuffed animal or character in a movie)

I like all types of dogs but my favourites are the ones that have belonged to me and the ones I’ve been “aunty” to over the last few decades and they have all been mixed breeds. My first one, Tammy, I never figured out exactly what she was, Nicki may have had a bit of Kelpie in her mix, Tessie was a Corgi/Cavalier King Charles Spaniel cross. I do like the Corgi personality. Cindy is a Staffy/Lab with a bit of Corgi thrown in but she is more like a Staffy than anything else.

Amongst the purebred dogs just for looks, I like Lassie collies, Irish Setters, Golden Retrievers and both Cocker and Cavalier King Charles Spaniels but these would be impractical dogs for me because of their size or the amount of grooming involved so I prefer to admire them from a distance.

The Australian Terrier is also a great little dog, handsome, a good size and personality although they can be yappy like most terriers.

List at least five favorite flowers or plants.

  • Roses
  • Daffodils
  • Tulips
  • Pansies
  • Dahlia’s
  • Chrysanthemum
  • Daisies
  • Pelargoniums
  • Petunia
  • Polyanthus
  • Bluebells
  • Hyacinth

and many more.

What inspired you this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

The weather has been pretty bad here the last few days, freezing cold winds, heavy rain, sleet and snow in some places. This morning, waiting for my ride to the shop outside my house I watched the birds who had been sheltering somewhere all appear once the rain stopped and the sun momentarily came out. It is inspiring to me that the birds, the plovers that still occupy the land next to my house, tiny little wrens and others like the starlings and the kookaburras survive in such conditions let alone manage to build nests and raise families.

There are four plovers I see nearly every day. I like to think that they are the same ones I saw as chicks last winter.

Out for a stroll with mum or dad.

 

 

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

One thought on “Share Your World 2017 – Week #35”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.