Share Your World 2017 – Week #25


Sharing My World This Week

What goal are you working on now? Your goal can be something fun or extremely serious.  Have fun with this question.

The main goal that I am working on at the moment is to finish painting the inside of my house. I have one large room, the living room, to do plus the laundry, back porch area, half the passage and the bathroom. After painting the kitchen myself I had a painter in to do the two main bedrooms and the dining /computer room and the front end of the passage as they have high ceilings. The rest I want to do myself as the ceilings are lower and I can manage with a good ladder. I hope to get this all done by the end of August. It is all part of my longer term goal of getting the house ready to go on the market in the spring.

Painting in progress.

What is one thing you’re glad you tried but would never do again?

I am glad that I climbed to the top of Uluru (Ayers Rock) when I was young. I was afraid that I would not be able to do it but I managed. However, it is not considered politically correct to make the climb these days and even if I wanted to I don’t think I would be physically capable now.

Did you choose your profession or did it choose you?

Hah! Cleaning is not a profession, it is a job but that’s fine. I have always said I work to live not live to work.

I guess you could say I chose my “profession”. I chose it because I had an opportunity to work for the State Transport Authority in Adelaide, I liked the idea of working around trains and the money and holidays were good. Later I chose to work in hospitality because housekeeping required some of the same skills.

 Have you ever gotten lost?

I usually say that I am not lost, just temporarily misplaced. However, I have been lost occasionally as most people have I’m sure.

One time Naomi and I were on holidays on South Australia’s Eyre Peninsula and we took some dirt back road which turned out to have zero signage. We were a little low on petrol so we were a bit anxious not to run out. We spotted some grain silos in the distance and reasoned where there were silos there was a railway line and a road which would lead us back to the main highway. It did and we made it to the next town without running out of petrol. I might add this was in the days before mobile phones so calling for help would not have been an option even if there were anyone we could think of to call.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

It has turned cold and wet here as winter sets in and I’m grateful for my heat pump that keeps the living room cosy and my electric blanket that makes the bed toasty warm.. Some people do it tough at this time of year and I know I am one of the fortunate ones.

This week, unless the weather is really bad Naomi will come down for lunch on Saturday. We are trying to have some kind of get together once a month providing her job, my volunteering or the weather does not intervene.

 

2 thoughts on “Share Your World 2017 – Week #25

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s