Share Your World 2017 – Week #20


Sharing My World This Week

What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? 

One thing that I have always wanted to do is to travel on the Indian Pacific train from Sydney to Perth. It is one of the trips that David and I did not get around to doing while he was working for the railways. It is possible to do it in two parts starting or ending in Adelaide but as I still love long distance train trips I would really like to do the whole journey in one go. I also really want to visit Fremantle, Western Australia as it is the first Australian port we stopped at coming to Australia more than 50 years ago.

 

Indian Pacific on the platform at East Perth.jpg
By Hourann Bosci from Perth, Australia – Indian Pacific on the platform at East Perth, CC BY-SA 2.0, Link

How often do you get a haircut?

My hair grows quickly and I should get it cut every six weeks but usually something comes up and I don’t get there when I am supposed to so it is more like every two to three months. I need to get it cut next week.

In regards to puzzle what’s your choice: jigsaw, crossword, word search or numeric puzzles?

I like jigsaw puzzles and crosswords although I haven’t done any lately. I also enjoy word search and I think these are probably my favourite of those mentioned. I like the hidden word puzzles and the Scrabble type ones as well. I’m not so keen on numeric puzzles. I have tried Sudoku but find it more frustrating than relaxing. I also like hidden object puzzles especially on the computer.

How many cities have you lived? You can share the number of physical residences and/or the number of cities.

I have mostly lived in suburbs rather than cities, for example when I lived in South Australia  I lived in Elizabeth which is a satellite city north of Adelaide, the capital, and three other Adelaide suburbs.

In England I lived in Romford which even today is still debating whether it is part of London or part of the county of Essex. Big cities have a way of swallowing all the towns in their path as they expand.

Geeveston is not a city it is a small country town and not a suburb of Hobart so as far as I am concerned it doesn’t count for this question.

Romford market building london

Romford: Is it in East London or Essex?

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week it was my 60th birthday. Naomi came down from Oatlands the night before and we went out to dinner with some friends of mine. They gave me a lovely bunch of flowers and a gag present of an over 60 survival kit with a lot of silly things in it.

For my birthday the next day Naomi and I went out to lunch at a nice café in Margate where we had Madras Pot Pie and met a lop-eared rabbit called Chili who is the resident pet and lives in the outdoor area of the café.

Naomi got me some presents from my dolly wish list including a horse for Sindy and a bend leg walking doll.

This week and last week I have had the painter in painting several rooms in my house and I am looking forward to the work being finished so that I can put everything back in its place.

Here are two of my birthday presents.

 

3 thoughts on “Share Your World 2017 – Week #20

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s