Share Your World -2015 -Week #49

Sharing My World This Week


What would be your ideal birthday present, and why?
Of course cash is a practical present but I do enjoy having an actual present to unwrap. My ideal birthday present would be a doll for my collection that I would not normally buy for myself because of cost or rarity. It is nice to know that the giver has gone to the trouble to track down a gift that I would really like or at least to ask me what I am currently wishing for. My sister is really good at this.

What color would you like your bedroom to be?
I love red but I think that a scarlet bedroom would not be very restful. I think my first choice would be a combination of a pale green with cream and a splash of a darker red like claret. I’ve lived with cream walls for several years now and I am a bit tired of that so pale green walls would make a nice change with the claret for a rug and other soft furnishings.


Would you prefer snowy winters, or not, and why?
It would depend on the level of snow involved. I have read many bloggers stories of hard winters where the snow has been an obstacle to getting out of the house and a danger when travelling. I don’t think I would like that but I do look forward to seeing snow on the mountains in winter here and even more to the rare occasions when if falls to lower levels as it did in Tasmania this winter. I rarely get to see snow let alone play in it and I would miss it if I never saw any.

It really did snow in the suburbs.Photo by Matt Clark
It really did snow in the suburbs.Photo by Matt Clark

Would you rather go a week without bathing, but be able to change your clothes, or a week without a change of clothes, but be able to bathe?
I would rather be able to bathe even if I had to put the same clothes back on. Not much point in putting clean clothes on a dirty body. I would start to feel very grubby and smelly after a couple of days of not showering and a week without washing my hair would make me very uncomfortable.
I do often wear the same outer clothes for a couple of days especially in cooler weather. If I am just staying at home the same track pants or old jeans and tops are fine. Why get dog hair over everything?

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?
Last week I was out quite a lot. I had coffee with a friend one morning and she gave me a load of knitting wool and craft supplies that she didn’t want any more. The next day I went with another friend to watch her son at gym, very funny watching all these four-year olds bouncing around for an hour. After that we had a birthday party for a mutual friend who I had not seen for about a year. I met a couple of ladies I did not know and we all had an enjoyable time. Later in the week my sister and I went out to see another cruise ship which was berthed in Hobart and I took some photos.

Voyager of the Seas, Hobart - 3 December 2015
Voyager of the Seas, Hobart – 3 December 2015

This week is looking quieter which is good because I don’t really like to be out several days in a row normally. I am getting the car cleaned up to sell and starting to think about writing Christmas cards and buying some small gifts for friends. Thursday is the first day of the Test Match Australia versus the West Indies which is being played in Hobart. I am planning to go as I always enjoy the first day of a five-day cricket match the best. I’ve found it to be a good day to photograph both teams warming up before the game starts too.


I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. My current housemates are Cindy, my 14-year-old Staffy-Lab X dog and Polly the world's most unsociable cat who is seven.

One comment

Leave a Reply to Cee Neuner Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.