Share Your World – 2015 -Week #42

Sharing My World This Week

Are you usually late, early, or right on time?

I usually tend to be early for things like interviews and appointments and even social events although in that case I will usually hang back until the correct time to arrive. It’s not polite to come to people’s homes before they are ready for you.
The only thing I was always chronically late for was when Hubby and I would go to a shopping mall together. We’d split up so I could go and look at clothes, dolls and other things he would not be interested in and we’d say we’d meet up in half an hour or an hour or whatever. I was nearly always late back to the designated meeting place but he would never be annoyed.
These days my life revolves around the bus timetable which often means I arrive in the city way too early for what I have to do so I’m rarely late.

If you were or are a writer do you prefer writing short stories, poems or novels?

None of the above, what I really like to write about is real life like I do in my blog. I’d be a travel writer (what a great excuse to go and see new places) or I’d research and write about things I was interested in like dolls, history or interesting people I’d met or events I’d been to.

Where did you live at age ten? Is it the same place or town you live now?

In 1967 when I was ten I lived in Elizabeth, South Australia. We had come from England the year before and at that time we were living with my aunt, uncle and three cousins and, for a short time, also my grandmother who died early that year. It was very crowded with seven or eight people under the one roof.
Elizabeth is about 25 kilometres north of Adelaide and at that time it was still a fairly new area and very popular with British migrants, many of whom still live there. It was a good place to be a child then, it felt safe, kids could go to the park on their own and houses had big back yards. There was plenty of work there for the adults and we could walk to the neighbourhood shops or catch a bus to the larger shopping centre. We could hop on a train and go to Adelaide although of course I was not allowed to do that alone until I was a teenager.
However, I would not want to live there now. Those hot South Australian summers would kill me I’m sure.
I am including a link to a promotional film about Elizabeth made in the early 1960s. It is quite long, 20 minutes, but it’s a lovely bit of nostalgia.


Would you rather be able to fly or breathe under water?

Both would be handy talents but I think I would plump for flying. How convenient it would be to fly to Hobart and back instead of waiting for the bus and how lovely it would be to soar over the Huon Valley and maybe take some aerial photographs. If I wasn’t afraid of falling I know I’d enjoy seeing things from above because I love visiting observation towers and wheels.
Star Observation Wheel
Of course breathing under water would be very useful. I can’t swim so at least it would save me from drowning in the event of an accident.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week I was happy because I was able to pay the travel agent for our cruise holiday which somehow makes it seem more real although I don’t think I’ll actually believe we are going until I step on the plane to go to Sydney to get to the ship.
I also had a nice morning in Franklin having a walk along a pathway by the river and catching up with my friend Graham who volunteers at the Living Boat Trust.
This Sunday I will be having lunch with Graham and half a dozen other friends in Huonville. We usually do this about once every two months and it’s always enjoyable.

The Huon River at Franklin.
The Huon River at Franklin.
The Living Boat Trust at Franklin.
The Living Boat Trust at Franklin.


I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.


  1. I find writing non-fiction more enjoyable that fiction too. The photo of the deck overlooking the river is lovely. It must be challenging to have to work around the bus schedule to get to your destinations.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.