Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – Pairs


Cee’s challenge this week is “Pairs” and it made me think of my mum because she liked pairs of things. Any knick knacks and ornaments she had on display she  always preferred to have two of. For example, on the mantelpiece there would be a clock which she was happy to have just one of but on either side of it there might be a pair of vases, a pair of china ornaments  and a pair of photographs. I remember her having a little ship made out of sea shells, maybe one of us bought it for her. She liked it but until she was able to find a similar one seeing it on the mantelpiece by itself bothered her. “It’s not balanced.” she would say.
Fittingly most of my pairs of things came from mum:
Two brass vases part of a collection of brass my grandmother bought in Egypt and India in the 20s and 30s which was passed to mum and then to me.
Two hand painted china plates that also once belonged to my grandmother and then mum.
Two china monkeys. Mum loved monkeys and people always gave her china monkeys as gifts.
Lastly, a doll with a pair of heads. This is mine. I bought it at a market because it was quite old and interesting.

Author: Taswegian1957

Born in England in 1957 my family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. David passed away in 2015 and I'm here on my own now but I have Cindy the dog and Polly the cat to keep me company. I currently co-write two Wordpress blogswith my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and a "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania.

2 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – Pairs”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.