Share Your World – 2015 – Week #4


A Journey Back to Childhood

Where did you live at age five?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

Until I was eight years old I lived in Romford, near London in the United Kingdom. I remember parts of it quite well. In 1965 we moved to Australia so now I live very far away from where I began although quite a few of my relations on my dad’s side still live around there. Here are some images of places that I remember quite well, all borrowed from the internet as I don’t have any I’ve taken myself on the computer. I remember my childhood home well because we lived near a cemetery, a gas works and a hospital. We would walk past them to go to the park or the town to go shopping.

 

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met. Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

That’s easy. No. I’m not much for parties anyway and nor is Hubby. I would not feel comfortable going to a party where I didn’t know anyone.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

I grew up in suburbs. Romford is considered to be an outer suburb of London now I think although it wasn’t when we lived there. Did I like it? Yes and no. I liked the market, catching the train to go somewhere, the double-decker buses even though riding on the bus made me sick. I liked the park we used to go to, the oak tree at the end of our street and walking under the railway line although I ran like mad if a train was coming in case it fell on me. I didn’t like the ugly flats around the town. I think my dislike of ugly buildings began in Romford.

The first place I lived in Australia was Elizabeth, a suburb of Adelaide which I did like. I liked the wide streets and the low houses, bungalows, mum called them. I liked the flowering trees that I’d never seen before coming to Australia. Back in those days I even liked the warm weather but that was before climate changed made South Australia in summer impossible.  Later mum remarried and we moved to another suburb which I did not like at all because it was ugly.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up

I didn’t really have any ambition to do a particular job. I wanted to go places and thought about being a travel agent for a while but I never knew what I really wanted to do. I did what came along although I did love working for the railways for most of the time I was there.

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. My current housemates are Cindy, my 14-year-old Staffy-Lab X dog and Polly the world's most unsociable cat who is seven.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.