Share Your World – 2014- Week 38


Sharing My World

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?

I think I would be an English Oak. I love those sturdy trees.

Oak trees growing on the Parliament Lawns, Hobart
Oak trees growing on the Parliament Lawns, Hobart

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do?

I thought cleaning at first, it would be great to have someone else vacuum up the pet hair and do the bending and kneeling chores but actually I think I’d plump for gardening because over time an hour a day would mean that I’d actually end up with flowers and veggies that wouldn’t die. We do get our grass cut every couple of weeks but it would be nice to have someone come and do a few things every day.

Photo: Flickr/Creative Commons.
Photo: Flickr/Creative Commons.

If you could have an endless supply of any food, what would you get?

The Australian thing to say would be Tim Tams.They are the most delicious chocolate biscuits I know. A few years ago the company that makes them ran an ad where a genie appeared to a girl to grant her a wish and she wished for an endless supply of Tim Tams so that’s what this question immediately made me think of.

Packet of Original Tim Tams.JPG
Packet of Original Tim Tams” by Lakeyboy (talk) – I (Lakeyboy (talk)) created this work entirely by myself.
Transferred from en.wikipedia. Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons.

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

My first job was as a sales girl/ checkout operator at the suburban branch of Moores, an South Australian department store. They are now defunct but I swear that had nothing to do with me.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week I had a nice scanning my photos of Scotland and reliving the memories of the short time we spent there. I’d so love to go there again one day. Coming up I’m looking forward to the arrival of some new clothes I ordered online last week.

Taswegian1957

I was born in England in 1957 and lived there until our family came to Australia in 1966. I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia, where I met and married my husband, David. We came together over a mutual love of trains. Both of us worked for the railways for many years, his job was with Australian National Railways, while I spent 12 years working for the STA, later TransAdelaide the Adelaide city transit system. After leaving that job I worked in hospitality until 2008. We moved to Tasmania in 2002 to live in the beautiful Huon Valley. In 2015 David became ill and passed away in October of that year. I currently co-write two blogs on WordPress.com with my sister Naomi. Our doll blog "Dolls, Dolls, Dolls", and "Our Other Blog" which is about everything else but with a focus on photographs and places in Tasmania. In November 2019 I began a new life in the house that Naomi and I intend to make our retirement home at Sisters Beach in Tasmania's northwest. Currently we have five pets between us. Naomi's two dogs Toby and Teddy and cats, Tigerwoods and Panther and my cat Polly. My dog Cindy passed away aged 16 in April 2022.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.